Close encounters of the third kind - sort of... - Reisverslag uit Washington, D. C., Verenigde Staten van vincentveneman - WaarBenJij.nu Close encounters of the third kind - sort of... - Reisverslag uit Washington, D. C., Verenigde Staten van vincentveneman - WaarBenJij.nu

Close encounters of the third kind - sort of...

Door: Vincent Veneman

Blijf op de hoogte en volg

09 Mei 2007 | Verenigde Staten, Washington, D. C.

Before you read this - An afwul lot of things happened since my 'last post'. I promise I will post a superlong story soon, so long you won't even make it to the end in one day! Just kidding, of course. But I will inform you about my 'wel en wee'. peace! ;-)

A conversation between Steve Turre and Vincent Veneman
- at Cecil's Jazz Club, West Orange (NJ), may 8th, 2007.

When a jazz trumpet player friend (Donald) takes me to this jam session at Cecil's, he tells me on the way there that Steve Turre shows up there pretty regularly. Of course that scares me at first, since he is a legend in jazz. But also because I heard stories that he's a 'special guy'. Somebody with a strong opinion.

We arrive and yes, Mr. Turre is present. A group of 'jazz cats' is standing outside. Steve is talking to the club owner, drummer Cecil Brooks III. We pass them, salute (I think they didn't even notice), go inside and pick a table and unpack our instruments, then wait. There's a drummer, guitarist and an organ player playing a blues. There's not a lot of people there, the atmosphere is rather relaxed, it's also an open jam (no sign up list).
Then, Mr. Turre comes into the room, picks his horn up and starts playing. I'd never even seen him before. I know his style, though. Very percussionate playing, some J.J. and Fuller, very rough sound. He's not one of my favourites, but the way he plays is very musical, though. I feel a little nervous going up there and play. Luckily my friend doesn't feel nervous at all, and he walks up front and takes a solo after Mr. Turre is done. After my friend sits down on a bar stool right at the bandstand, I walk towards him with my bone. The guitar player is now playing a solo. Mr. Turre stands right behind my friend. He looks rather grumpy. Still, I feel kind of weird standing so close to him and not even saying hello. Looks like Mr. Turre doesn't care, he's just standing there. So I think, let's just walk up to him and say hello. (Oh, he has props of paper in his ears, I noticed that after a couple of words...)

Vince:
Hi, I'd like to say hello, I'm Vincent (shake hands)
(Steve doesn't say anything back)
Vince:
I'm glad to see you, I've never seen you live before and I'm almost leaving back home to Holland.
Steve:
What? (remember, band plays and he has props of paper in his ear)
Vince:
I've never seen you live before, nice to see you play here.
(Steve doesn't really respond, seems like he still doesn't get it)
Vince:
I'm a student of Conrad Herwig
Steve:
Where you're studying?
Vince:
Rutgers, with Conrad
Steve:
Did he teach you doodle tonguing already? (At this moment I remember Conrad saying to me that he
heard Steve say that he hates doodle tonguing...)
Vince:
I'm afraid so, yes.
Steve:
Do you use it?
Vince:
Not really, yet. maybe, subconciously.
Steve:
It's not a real articulation. It's fake!
Vince:
Well,
Steve:
What makes a note in time?
Vince:
The tongue?
Steve:
The attack! How can you play jazz with fake time?
Vince:
I don't know, never thought about that.
Steve: (starts playing along with the band from his chair)
Listen, this is real (plays a couple of lines)
Steve:
Listen to the cats man, J.J., Curtis, Slide, all of them don't use doodle.
Vince:
So you and they are using "Dagadagadaga", like that?
Steve:
You got it!
Vince:
Allright, well, never really thought about that.
(Steve plays some more licks)
Steve:
Jazz is about time!
Vince:
(I'm not saying anything, just nodding, looking to the band play.
Steve stops saying things.

Then, we play the head out together. After that, Steve walks away to the back of the club, and starts chatting again. I play the head and a solo of the next tune, Softly as in the morning Sunrise. At first, I'm making shure not to use doodle to much. I already use some of it in my playing. Then I think, what the heck, this is me. Who cares. I kind of started to like using doodle anyway. When I'm done, I noticed Mr. Turre is not in the room anymore. I didn't see him again that night.

  • 09 Mei 2007 - 23:55

    Libsky:

    Hey Vince, just do(odle) your own thing! :-) Great story!

  • 10 Mei 2007 - 10:47

    Papa:

    Hoi Vince,

    Wat een verhaal zeg. Het is net, of je er als lezer naar staat te kijken en te luisteren. Mooi man!! Libsky heeft helemaal gelijk. Geloof in jezelf en doe lekker je eigen ding.

    Groeten en knuffel van oen Pappe.

  • 10 Mei 2007 - 12:28

    Gertjan:

    Ey vince.. mooi verhaal! Kan aan je manier van schrijven vernemen dat het speciaal was om die man te ontmoeten! Het zei me allebei niets dus ik even ge-googled. Doodle heb ik nog steeds niet helemaal, zal iets met ritmes zijn oid…? google vraagt of ik niet yankee doodle (wat ik alleen als eetwarenhuis uit assen ken) bedoel..
    Die steve lijkt me een mooie kirl! Wat een konings-sik!
    Je moet al bijna weer abreisen volgens mij.. geniet er nog van!

    gegroet!

  • 11 Mei 2007 - 09:04

    Aldegea:

    Vincent...

    Jij red je wel...... over een paar jaar komt er in een of andere Jazzclub iemand naar jou toe...

    "...Hi, I'd like to say hello, I'm Steve(shake hands)

    Vincent...: "...What?..."

    Groeten, Lútsen en Bettie

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Mason Gross School of the Arts (Rutgers University) New Brunswick - New Jersey (U.S.A.) Master of Music - Jazz Trombone (Conrad Herwig, teacher)

Actief sinds 02 Sept. 2006
Verslag gelezen: 378
Totaal aantal bezoekers 23576

Voorgaande reizen:

02 September 2006 - 18 Juni 2007

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: