News & other stuff - Reisverslag uit Washington, D. C., Verenigde Staten van vincentveneman - WaarBenJij.nu News & other stuff - Reisverslag uit Washington, D. C., Verenigde Staten van vincentveneman - WaarBenJij.nu

News & other stuff

Door: Vincent Veneman

Blijf op de hoogte en volg

07 December 2006 | Verenigde Staten, Washington, D. C.

Hello everybody!

It's been a while since my last post...

So, stuff to tell again!!

First of all, I got extra photo-space, so I posted other pictures. Check them out and see what my spare time looks like...

In the meanwhile I did a lot of stuff

I fixed the mistake on one of my Visa-forms, took a while but it appeared that they also put the mistake in their system, so luckily I didn't get into more trouble because of that.

A had a couple of concerts too.
With the trombone-ensemble (with Conrad) and the bigband of Rutgers, both at Cecil's jazz club in West Orange, NJ. Those were nice gigs.

Also I had a concert with the Jazz Band Classic, in the 'Knitting Factory' in New York.
That was very nice. Although the ensemble sound of the band isn't that thriving, pretty much of the kids can really improvise!!
Unfortunately I'm not in the band anymore, because of official attendance policy... I guess when you run a band where there's also 14-year olds you have to be very strict. But for a college student like me, I mean, I had school obligations, that's not really the case.
Anyway, I had too many absences (eventhough I sent a substitute) so they kicked me out. I'm still cool, I'll use my time to do something else that also helps me grow.

The top gig last month was on november 28. I played with both the trombone-ensemble and the bigband at Rutgers, featuring latin-jazz star Eddie Palmieri!! also little Johnny Rivero and Renato Thoms on percussion were present.
Soon I will obtain a recording of this concert... It was swinging like a **** ... you know what I mean. Impossible to NOT move. Eddie & Conrad played a duet and it knocked us off...

I had thanksgiving diner in Rockaway; Nick Scheuble, a drummer who lived in Groningen a couple of times, invited me over to stay with his family. We ate turkey and watched a movie.
The area where they live is beautiful. It's in western New Jersey, almost Pennsylvania, where the Appalachan mountains start. I took a nice train trip there. It was very nice to be there, and hang out.

I also saw some Rutgers Football games, we went out watching them in a place (pub) called "stuff yer face" (www.stuffyerface.com), very nice (though American style) drinking joint.
They won an important game which made people go crazy, two roads were shut down, because people (I mean students) were all over the place. A police helicopter with a big spotlight was flying around. Interesting experience... but nice!! I drank 2 much...

Today, dec 6, we had a christmas party at our school, that Conrad & his wife arranged. The jazz-trombones played christmas music, while everybody else stuffed their mouths with salads, sandwiches, candy and pizza. Pete wore a nice santa-suit. Have you ever seen a trombone-playing santa?? looked nice!!

Allright, well, there's much more to tell but I'll just keep that so I have something to tell when I return... most probably december 24.

I will be in 'holland' until january 13 so...

Afke & me will give a party on january 5, most probably in the AABC-cafe in Groningen. Put that in your agenda's, please.

Allright, well, enjoy the pictures!!

[funny quotes from Americans that aren't geographic majors...]

in the train, woman travelling with family, asks:
W: "Where are you from?"
V: "the Netherlands"
W: "John, I'd like you too meet Vincent, he's from Amsterdam!"

Gareth:
" I was just arguing with Matt about the fact that Amsterdam is in Denmark"
Vincent: "Amsterdam is in the Netherlands, the capitol of Denmark is Copenhagen"
Gareth: "Oh really"
Matt: "You see, dumbass??"

Matt (other Matt, a trumpet player; )
"Is Kazachstan close to Holland?"

guy at the Halloween party
"What language do they speak in Holland; Hollandish?"
(this is not a joke, which makes it a joke!)

  • 07 December 2006 - 13:30

    Martin:

    Hey Vince!
    Fijn om te horen dat je het nog steeds naar je zin hebt in de States! Hier in Edinburgh ook alles goed: 't zit d'r bijna op. Thanksgiving is hilarisch: heb het ook gevierd met m'n American flatmates :-). Spreken elkaar snel weer: zal mn best doen d'r bij te zijn in Grunn', kom 3 januari weer naar NL maar zit waarschijnlijk eerste dagen bij mn ouders om de ontwenningsverschijnselen van me af te werpen...anyhow: enjoy and see ya!

  • 07 December 2006 - 22:39

    Jolien:

    Hoihoi
    tof om weer n reactie te hebben!!! Ik ga ook ff snel je krabbel lezen. Hier in Wageningen is t VET drukjes aant worden nu t Lustrum zo dichtbij komt... Kreeg trouwens viavia de groeten van Afke Leuk he
    Tot gauw!! Vet veel zin om je weer te zien
    Liefs

  • 08 December 2006 - 08:37

    Dianne:

    Jammer dat je jouw (witte) chocoladeletter nog niet hebt gekregen Hopenlijk is de post jouw toch nog goedge sint!Jouw verhaal is leuk de foto's winderig -zeewind- en tijd gaat snel
    Tot gauw!!!!!!!!!!

  • 10 December 2006 - 02:15

    Afke:

    Hee!! haha vet grappig die amerikanen...ach ja, hier in frankrijk denken ze ook dat we duits spreken in nederland, dutch haha.
    Mijn chocoladeletter was trouwens heerlijk! Bedankt Sinterklaas! Ik kreeg em wat aan de vroege kant want frankrijk is natuurlijk dichterbij spanje :)maar.. netjes gewacht tot 5 december en toen in een keer opgegeten hahaha!!
    Groetjes aan iedereen

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Mason Gross School of the Arts (Rutgers University) New Brunswick - New Jersey (U.S.A.) Master of Music - Jazz Trombone (Conrad Herwig, teacher)

Actief sinds 02 Sept. 2006
Verslag gelezen: 272
Totaal aantal bezoekers 23571

Voorgaande reizen:

02 September 2006 - 18 Juni 2007

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: